15:20 PM

American Academy of Mechanics Elects Distinguished Professor Peyman Givi as Fellow

Givi is first Pitt faculty member to receive honor

The American Academy of Mechanics announced at its 16th Pan-American Congress of Applied Mechanics (PACAM XVI) that the University of Pittsburgh's Peyman Givi was elected the 2021 AAM Fellow.

Givi is the Distinguished Professor of Mechanical Engineering and the James T. MacLeod Professor in the Swanson School of Engineering at the University of Pittsburgh. Previously he held the rank of University Distinguished Professor in Aerospace Engineering at the State University of New York at Buffalo, where he received the Professor of the Year Award by Tau Beta Pi (2002). He also worked as a Research Scientist at the Flow Industries, Inc. in Seattle.

Dr. Givi has had frequent visiting appointments at the NASA Langley & Glenn (Lewis) centers and received the NASA’s Public Service Medal in 2005. He is amongst the first 15 engineering faculty nationwide who received the White House Presidential Faculty Fellowship from President George Bush. He also received the Young Investigator Award of the Office of Naval Research, and the Presidential Young Investigator Award of the National Science Foundation.

Dr. Givi is a member of the editorial boards of AIAA Journal, Combustion Theory and Modeling, Computers & Fluids, Journal of Applied Fluid Mechanics, and a past advisory board member of Progress in Energy and Combustion Science. He received his Ph.D. from the Carnegie Mellon University (PA), and BE (Summa Cum Laude) from the Youngstown State University (OH), where he was named the 2004 Phi Kappa Phi Distinguished Alumnus, and the 2012 STEM College Outstanding Alumnus. Dr. Givi has achieved Fellow status in AAAS, AIAA, APS, and ASME; and was designated as ASME’s Engineer of the Year 2007 in Pittsburgh.