17:20 PM

Ken Jordan elected member of prestigious International Academy of Quantum Molecular Science

Jordan holds a secondary appointment in Chemical and Petroleum Engineering

Chemistry's Ken Jordan has been elected to the International Academy of Quantum Molecular Science (IAQMS). The IAQMS, headquartered in Menton, France, has inducted only 193 members in its 54-year history. Jordan, the Richard King Mellon Professor and Distinguished Professor of Computational Chemistry, and associate director of the Center for Research Computing, is now a member among the pioneers of quantum theory and molecular quantum science. Past and present IAQMS members include a roll call of Nobel Prize winners, among them Louis de Broglie, Linus Pauling, Kenichi Fukui, John Pople and Walter Kohn. and Arieh Warshel.

The Academy chooses members from among scientists across the world who have distinguished themselves by the value of their scientific work, their role of pioneer or leader of a school in the broad field of the application of quantum mechanics to the study of molecules and macromolecules. The Academy describes its goal as providing "a forum for international contact and collaboration and a periodical evaluation of the main developments, advances and promising directions of research."