00:00 AM

Pitt’s Swanson School of Engineering announces Distinguished Alumni for 2016

PITTSBURGH (March 16, 2016) … More than 300 faculty, staff, alumni and friends of the Swanson School of Engineering gathered last night to recognize this year's Distinguished Alumni Award recipients at the School's annual banquet in the University of Pittsburgh's Alumni Hall. Gerald D. Holder, US Steel Dean of Engineering, presented awards honoring alumni from each of the School's six departments, as well as for the Swanson School overall.

“Since 1964 we have honored our top graduates, and this year’s class of awardees reflects the tremendous accomplishments of our Pitt engineers,” Dean Holder said. “I congratulate them on their success and thank them for their dedication to the Swanson School."

This year’s recipients include:
Swanson School of Engineering
Lester C. Snyder III, BSCE '79
President & CEO, i+icon USA

Department of Bioengineering

Rebecca Gottlieb, BSME '93, PhD BIOE '01
Director of Advanced Research, Medtronic Diabetes

Department of Chemical and Petroleum Engineering
Robert F. Savinell, MSCHE '74, PhD '77
George S. Dively Professor of Electrochemical Engineering, Case Western Reserve University

Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering
Marcella (Marcy) Johnson, BSCE '77, MSCE '01
President, RHEA Engineers and Consultants, Inc.

Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering

Michael J. Pietropola Jr., BSEE '83
President, Pietropola Consulting

Department of Industrial Engineering
Russell J. Corsi II, BSIE '70, MBA '76
President, Technical Autoglass Consultants

Department of Mechanical Engineering and Materials Science
David L. Motley, BSME '80
Senior Managing Director, Headwaters SC Life Science

This year’s sponsors included:
Gold Level: First National Bank, i+icon USA
Blue Level: Michael Baker International, PJ Dick Corp., Walnut Capital
Corporate Friends: BlueTree Venture Fund, Ellwood Quality Steels, Omega Healthcare, SAI Consulting Engineers, Westinghouse
Donors: Stephen J. Botos, ALung Inc., Frederick Pettit, John Schoeppner


Pictured above from left: Russell Corsi, Marcy Johnson, Lester Snyder, Dean Holder, Robert Savinell, Rebecca Gottlieb, Michael Pietropola, David Motley

Contact: Paul Kovach