00:00 AM

Swanson School announces 2015 roster of Distinguished Alumni; Chemical Engineering alumnus Leonard Peters named School's awardee

PITTSBURGH (January 26, 2015) … Seven alumni who have made an impact across public, private and government sectors will be recognized by the University of Pittsburgh's Swanson School of Engineering with the 51 st Annual Distinguished Alumni Awards. The award honors those Pitt alumni who have made a positive contribution within their respective fields across the School's six engineering departments. In addition, one individual who was previously selected as a department awardee will be recognized as the overall Swanson School awardee. The awards will be presented at the Swanson School's Distinguished Alumni Banquet on Thursday, March 26 at Pitt's Alumni Hall.

"On behalf of the Swanson School we're proud to recognize these seven individuals who have excelled within their discipline and are exemplary ambassadors of Pitt engineering," noted Gerald D. Holder, PhD, U.S. Steel Dean of Engineering. "I look forward to welcoming them back to campus and celebrating their achievements."

This year's recipients are:
Swanson School of Engineering Distinguished Alumnus
Leonard K. Peters, BsChE '62, MSChE '69, PhD '71
Secretary of Energy and Environmental Cabinet, Commonwealth of Kentucky

Fernando Aguel BSBioE '00, MSBioE '04
Branch Chief of the Circulatory Support Devices Branch, United States Food and Drug Administration 

Civil and Environmental Engineering
John D. Bossler, PhD, BSCE '59
Retired, Professor and Director of the Center for Mapping, Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering and Geodetic Studies, Ohio State University

Chemical and Petroleum Engineering
Michael J. Fetkovich, DSc, BSPet '54
Phillips Fellow Emeritus, Phillips Petroleum Co. Sr. Principal Reservoir Engineer
Member of the National Academy of Engineering

Electrical and Computer Engineering
Jeffrey M. Platt, BSEE '79 
President and CEO, Tidewater, Inc.

Industrial Engineering
David M. Dunahay, BSIE '78
Founding president (retired), FAW-GM Light Duty Commercial Vehicle Co. in Changchun, China; and Adjunct Professor of International Business, Georgetown University

Mechanical Engineering and Materials Science
Albert J. Neupaver, MSME '79, MBA '82
Executive Chairman, Westinghouse Air Brake Technologies Corporation