00:00 AM

Mostafa Bedewy named a 2018 recipient of the Outstanding Young Manufacturing Engineers Award

Dr. Bedewy has been selected to receive the 2018 Outstanding Young Manufacturing Engineer Award from the Society of Manufacturing Engineering (SME).  This award is given to exceptional young manufacturing engineers (35 years old or younger) from academia and industry for their contributions in manufacturing.

At the University of Pittsburgh, Bedewy leads its NanoProduct Lab. Previously, he was a postdoctoral associate at MIT in bionanofabrication. In 2013, Bedewy completed his doctorate at the University of Michigan, after receiving both bachelor’s and master’s degrees in mechanical design and production engineering from Cairo University. He recently received the Ralph E. Powe Junior Faculty Enhancement Award from the Oak Ridge Associated Universities in 2017; the Robert A. Meyer Award from the American Carbon Society in 2016; the Richard and Eleanor Towner Prize for Distinguished Academic Achievement from the University of Michigan in 2014; and the Silver Award from the Materials Research Society in 2013.

Bedewy’s research interests include nanomanufacturing, materials characterization and metrology; synthesis and self-organization of low-dimensional materials; self-assembly of nanoparticles, block copolymers and proteins; and design of medical devices. “In our interdisciplinary research group, we leveraging precision engineering, biomimetic/bio-inspired designs, and quantitative tools to tackle fundamental research questions at the interface between nanoscience, biotechnology, and manufacturing engineering,” said Dr. Bedewy.

“This is an incredibly competitive award, and we are proud that Mostafa has been recognized by his peers for his advances in nonmanufacturing and nanoscience,” noted Bopaya Bidanda, the Ernst Roth Professor and Chair of the Department of Industrial Engineering. “His interdisciplinary research has been a great addition to our department and this award truly validates his impact in the field.” 

Link: News article on the website of the Swanson School of Engineering
Link: List of winners of the winners of the 2018 SME Outstanding Young Manufacturing Engineers
Link: ORAU award recipients 

Contact: Liza Allison