20:36 PM

Swanson School Ties for Most 2021-22 IEEE PES Scholars

Seven Pitt Electrical Engineering students receive IEEE PES Scholarship Plus awards, and three-time recipient Eli Brock is named the John W. Estey top scholar in the region

In recognition of achievements during their electrical engineering education at the University of Pittsburgh, seven Swanson School of Engineering undergraduates were selected as 2021-22 Scholarship Plus Award recipients by the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) Power and Energy Society (PES).

The students are among 72 recipients across the U.S., Canada, and Puerto Rico, and they will receive a financial award, one year of IEEE PES student membership and have the opportunity to be mentored by leading professionals in the power and energy industry. 

This year’s winners include two-time recipient Maurice Sturdivant and three-time recipient Eli Brock. The latest Pitt winners include Jack Carnovale, Patrick Connor, Carter Leatherman, Todd Marzec, and Kamden Sarkey.

In addition to the Scholarship Plus award, Brock also received the John W. Estey Outstanding Scholar award for the Mid-Atlantic region. This annual award recognizes the top PES Scholar in each of the six IEEE regions located in the U.S., Puerto Rico, and Canada. This marks Pitt’s third John W. Estey Scholar in the past six years – Corey Weimann received the 2017 award, and Nate Carnovale was the 2019 recipient.

“For the first time ever, the University of Pittsburgh led all universities in the country in a tie with Arizona State for the most scholars,” said Robert Kerestes, assistant professor of ECE and director of the electrical engineering program. “These awards are a tremendous honor in the field of power engineering, and we are proud of each of these students for their outstanding accomplishments.”

Scroll through the carousel, and click on each scholar to read more about their achievements.