Pittsburgh, PA,
07:00 AM

IISE honors Pitt’s Bopaya Bidanda for Scholarship and Leadership

Ernest Roth Professor of Industrial Engineering Bopaya Bidanda received praise for his new book and incredible leadership in the field

Bopaya Bidanda, the Ernest Roth Professor of Industrial Engineering at the University of Pittsburgh Swanson School of Engineering, has been busy.

Adding to his long list of accomplishments that includes a current Fulbright-Nehru Senior Scholar award, Bidanda was recently chosen for both the 2024 winner of the Book-of-the-Year and Frank and Lillian Gilbreth Industrial Engineering awards from the Institute of Industrial & Systems Engineers (IISE), the largest professional society dedicated to industrial engineering.

“I’m more than grateful to be selected for these awards from my wonderful peers in industrial and systems engineering,” Bidanda said. “Being recognized for this work only motivates me to keep contributing to the field.”

His leadership and service to the IISE led him to the Frank and Lillian Gilbreth Industrial Engineering award, the highest level of achievement from the society for contributions to the discipline of Industrial Engineering. In December 2023, he also received the Lillian Gilbreth Award from the Indian Institution of Industrial Engineering, making him the first to receive both awards.

Bidanda has received much praise for the 6th edition of the “Maynard’s Industrial and Systems Engineering Handbook, ” which is considered the definitive body of knowledge in the field.

“The Institute is proud of the achievements of our long-time member, past president and IISE Fellow Dr. Bopaya Bidanda,” said Don Greene, CEO of the Institute of Industrial and Systems Engineers. “His contributions to IISE and the industrial and systems engineering profession continue to make an impact worldwide.”

He will be honored at IISE’s 2024 Annual Conference and Expo in Montreal.

Bidanda served as IISE president from 2020-2021 and has been a Fellow of the organization since 2002. He received the IISE’s Albert G. Holzman Distinguished Educator Award in 2013.