20:55 PM

Marion Alice Nye "Buzz" Barry Scholarship 2022 Winner


Sarah Wielgosz, recent mechanical engineering graduate, is the 2022 winner of the Marion Alice Nye “Buzz” Barry Scholarship. Wielgosz joins fellow ME graduate, Aarti Patel, who was the inaugural winner of the scholarship last year.

Applicants submitted a resume and personal statement, which was evaluated by reviewers, who calculated an average score to determine the winner.  The review committee was made up of; Ms. Bailey Cassler of NASA JPL, Pitt MEMS alumni; Ms. Rachel Blum of Johns Hopkins Applied Physics Laboratory, Pitt MEMS alumni; Ms. Aarti Patel of NASA Johnson Space Center, Pitt MEMS alumni and previous winner; SMSgt Lui Puga, Flight Chief, Cyber Operations of the USAF.

This scholarship is named in honor of Marion Alice Nye “Buzz” Barry, a licensed commercial pilot, certified flight and ground school instructor, a member of the Ninety-Nine Women Pilots Association, and one of the first women in the aviation industry. The scholarship can be used for tuition or sponsored academic research related to aerospace engineering.