00:00 AM

Scholarship Award Winners Named

The Robert E. Rumcik ’68 Scholarship in Mechanical and Materials Engineering has been awarded to two high-performing students in the MEMS Department: MSE junior Jonah De Cortie and MSE senior Alexandra Beebout.

The scholarship recipients were selected by the Swanson School of Engineering based on recommendations from the MEMS Department Chair, Prof. Brian Gleeson. The scholarship, which is provided through an endowment established by ELLWOOD Group, allocates $15,000 towards the education expenses of each recipient. 

Bob Rumcik, the namesake of the scholarship, graduated from Pitt with a BS in Metallurgy in 1968.  He was President of ELLWOOD Quality Steels (EQS), ELLWOOD’s steelmaking division, from 1985 through to his retirement in 2013.

There to present the scholarship to the winners were Bob Rumcik himself and Anna Barensfeld, Vice President of Strategic Initiatives and fifth generation worker at ELLWOOD.

Contact: Meagan Lenze