14:44 PM

Delayed by Covid-19, Swanson School finally celebrates 2020 Distinguished Alumni in person, on campus

2020 DAB Banner

Pictured above from left: John Gargani, David Bucklew, Lloyd Yates, Laura Livingston, James Martin II, Mark Tressler, Andrew Tavakoli, Robert Agbede. (John Altdorfer)


Just as the Office of Philanthropic and Alumni Engagement at the Swanson School of Engineering was prepared to announce its 2020 class of Distinguished Alumni and prepare for the annual award banquet's 61st year, the COVID-9 pandemic forced a halt to all campus activities. Last night however after a two-year hiatus, U.S. Steel Dean of Engineering James Martin II finally welcomed the winners at the Swanson School's formal ceremony at the University Club.

“The disruptions and losses of the past two years may have postponed our celebration, but it did not cancel our pride in the 2020 honorees,” Dean Martin said. “This is a tremendous cohort representative of the leadership, dedication, and success of our 30,000-strong global community of Pitt Engineers."

The 2020 Swanson School Distinguished Alumni include:

Lloyd Yates

Swanson School of Engineering Distinguished Alumnus

Lloyd Yates, BSME ’82  
President and CEO, NiSource Inc.  
Read more 


Andrew Tavakoli

Swanson School of Engineering Inaugural Leader in Entrepreneurship

Andrew Tavakoli, BSEE ’81 
Entrepreneur, Real Estate Investor, Philanthropist
Read more

John Wainwright Portrait

Department of Bioengineering Distinguished Alumnus

John Wainwright, PhD BioE ’10 
Vice President, Research & Development, MIVI Neuroscience Inc.
Read more

John Gargani

Department of Chemical and Petroleum Engineering Distinguished Alumnus

John C. Gargani, BSChE ’86 
Vice President (retired), Southwestern Energy Company
Read more


Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering Distinguished Alumnus

Robert O. Agbede, BSMine ’79, MSMine ’81 
University Trustee and Swanson School Board of Visitors Chair 
Chairman and CEO, Chester Group Inc. and Chester LNG LLC 
Read more

Mark Tressler

Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering Distinguished Alumnus

Mark Tressler, BSEE ’71 
Project Executive (retired), Exxon Mobile
Read more

David Bucklew

Department of Industrial Engineering Distinguished Alumnus

David K. Bucklew, BSIE ’80
Senior Vice President, North American Sales (retired), Eaton Corporation
Read more

Laura Livingston

Department of Mechanical Engineering and Materials Science Distinguished Alumna

Laura A. Livingston, BSMechE ’81, MSIE  ’85 
Key Accounts Vice President (retired), Westinghouse 
President (retired), WesDyne 
Read more